Helen Bairstow’s Story

Way back in 1981 I studied to become a beauty therapist. Eventually owning three beauty businesses which gave me access to insider information … but I didn’t like what I saw.
I started to question the manufacturers about the ingredients in the products I was recommending and selling. In the late eighties I discovered aromatherapy (when people didn’t even know what the word meant!). While studying to become a clinical aromatherapist in London I began to see how natural ingredients were more effective AND less damaging to the skin. Using my skin as a laboratory I investigated how nutrition and natural therapies can make a positive difference to the health of your skin. As a result I became VERY disillusioned with the beauty industry. I could not live a lie any longer and in 1997 we sold-up and left the beauty industry behind. In 2001 I started a marketing company. My friends who wanted their skin to look like mine wanted my ‘skin secrets’. So a book was written about what I had learned about the beauty industry rip-offs.
If You Want Great Skin, Throw Away Your Cosmetics” was published in 2004 but seems people were not yet ready to hear this information. They just loved their fancy jars of stuff too much – seriously. So I went on with life…

Leave a Reply

